Blogging

This blog: from 2011 to now.

There’s one thing that I am really proud of with this blog, and it’s that I have kept it going for about four years. I started it in the first term of my final year of uni – everyone was job hunting and, knowing I was going to go on and do a post-grad NCTJ, I wasn’t. So I thought I would try and do something that could potentially make me more employable when the time came to search for a job. FullSizeRender I’ve documented everything here, my whole NCTJ experience week by week, my work experience placements, my quest to write the perfect cover letter, my rejections, graduating university, getting my work published for the first time, job hunting, being unemployed, getting my first job, my interviews, getting my second job how journalism is completely changing. A LOT of stuff. I started when blogging wasn’t really a thing, and now it’s basically a career option. I started doing it for myself, not for the sake of it and I’m happy to say that I still feel like that now. I don’t want advertisers on my blog or people telling me what to write. It’s a place where I can just write and not care about what any editor thinks. My first post is so cringe, and about 20 words long: “Who ever said it was easy to pursue a career in journalism? No one. So why do we put ourselves through the stress of sending out dozens of email’s and letters and end up getting no reply? … I guess it’s all in the passion for journalism that we were so happened to be gifted with. Who else wants to join the roller coaster of a ride from being a graduate – journalist? Jump on board.” But what I’ve realised is how much it has changed. Visually, and content-wise. I started by talking about how as a graduate, went on to offer advice during every step of my journalism journey, and now I feel I’ve got to the point where I’m writing more thoughtful pieces rather than giving 6 things to do on work experience. Cos people like it. And I know that because I can see it from my stats. I’ve written countless posts here about trying to be a journalist, and then I got there and the content has changed. So I was doing loads of advice pieces on what I had learned and things that were unexpected in the industry and what other people should be doing that I perhaps didn’t that would really help them. I’ve documented my two jobs so far as an entry-level journalist – how I got them, what the interview process was like, what the jobs would be. I’ve even documented more recently how I’m unsure of what my next step would be. I began having guest bloggers and young aspiring journalists who were chatting about what they were learning at uni or on their projects or during their new modules. But reading more thoughtful and longer blog posts in the realms of the internet has made me think that I want to start doing the same. I want to try out posts that perhaps aren’t related to journalism in particular, but will still run along the same theme of work, success, creativity, writing and happiness. So here’s to starting a blog before it was incredibly popular, and keeping it going all these years, even with all those changes.

Leave a Reply

