Blogging

The reason I finally started reading blogs… a year later than everyone else.

Or maybe even more than a year later. It’s probably not the best thing to admit that I never really read blogs until quite late in 2014. I didn’t even really read articles online, they were so unrelatable. (And also probably because I didn’t have an iPhone where I could access the internet 24/7 to procrastinate and waste time when I was meant to be doing other things).

photo

But there was a reason for that. Fashion and beauty blogs were the only types of blogs that I came across. If blogs were shared on Facebook or retweeted on Twitter, they were talking about their latest product review, or what they bought from Topshop this week. And then suddenly, EVERYONE loved it. Everyone cared what these girls were wearing and buying and looking at and lusting over. And I just didn’t. Not because what they bought was horrible or the products were crap, but they didn’t influence me. I wasn’t interested in what they were buying. I’ve never cared that much for fashion and beauty, because I know what I like. But I guess more importantly, there wasn’t a voice I really identified with and because of that, their opinions didn’t affect me. Because writing was a secondary thing of their blogging, and it was a love of fashion and beauty that started it, not a love of words.

So with a blogging storm where everyone on my timeline started to become obsessed with these girls, I just wasn’t. I carried on sporadically blogging, but wasn’t in touch with the blogging world.

And then it all changed a bit. Instead of seeing pictures of what people had for dinner, what cocktail bar is the best in London, why we should all be buying THIS mascara, blogging started to turn into something I identified with. The gap of having an online voice in the internet world widened, and trained writers and journalists who were keen to make their mark began writing relatable, interesting and thoughtful content that was replacing well-respected publications for young girls. Why is it that sometimes, as a 20 year old girl we sometimes just want to cry? What do we genuinely miss about being at university? Is it really okay to sometimes just want to sit on your own in your room with a candle and speak to no one? How do we write when we have no inspiration?

I came across a post that went viral from HannahGale.co.uk on Facebook and found the first blogger that really knew what she was doing. Yes she covers fashion and beauty (and influences me to want to buy that stuff too), but she talks about life in an honest way that makes you go “OH MY GOD ME TOO!” And so people read it. And share it. And love it. And I found myself constantly waiting for the next post and saving it for my long commute home. She uses language that you actually want to read, and how you would talk to your friends. The language wasn’t far away, as if there’s a person in authority telling you how you should do your hair on a first date. It’s like an online, friendly conversation. And it’s about all those strange and weird things that happen in life that you might not always understand.

So recently I went in search for more blogs like that, blogs that talk about lifestyle and everyday things, work, friendships, careers, worries, anxieties, happiness, nostalgia, writing. And I found them. Bloggers are replacing websites or publications that once were the only places who you would turn to for content. Blogs of 20-something girls are asking the questions you ask your friends, and creating content that you actually want to read about.

So now I have a selection of writers that I love to read. And all of them are trying to do the same thing: demonstrate their love of writing, discussing life and love and the shit things that come with it. And it’s much more refreshing to read that a load of outfit pictures and beauty products.

One thought on “The reason I finally started reading blogs… a year later than everyone else.

  1. Pingback: Inspiration from fellow writers: why it’s so damn good. | Jump for Journalism.

Leave a Reply

