Journalism Jobs

Getting a journalism job: 5 tips

I have had so many blog post ideas in my head of what to write surrounding my new job role. And not only that, but the build up to it, the interview, the process afterwards, blah blah. But in all honesty, since starting I have been SO busy. Not just at work, but after work, too. Given the added time onto my journey to work into mornings AND evenings, all I really want to do when I get in is lie on my bed, literally. And I’m not even embarrassed. As a snapshot, I used to drive 20 minutes to work, 30 minutes on a bad day. Although my failing car seemed to bring about surprises every now and then, it was a pretty easy commute. I knew that eventually I wanted to be working in London,  and now it’s here. I work in Camden, so I get a train to St Pancras International which takes just over an hour, and a short tube to Camden… and a little walk to the office. So anyway, here’s my take on what I did RIGHT when applying to this job. Fotor0920202736 1. I found out who to address the cover letter too I know I’ve spoken about this before when talking about cover letters, but I actually did it. I didn’t know who to address the cover letter too, so I found out. This can be done through either sending an email, or making a phone call, but I waited until I had the name before I sent my letter off. It makes a difference, and it shows initiative.

2. I wrote my cover letter from scratch Sounds obvious, doesn’t it? It’s not. The amount of people who have a standardised cover letter, filling in the ‘gaps’ and changing them for each job. I.e. “I’d love to work for XX because I really believe my writing style suits it, and it sounds like a great place to work.” How vague and waffly is that? I took every opportunity to mention the employer, the workplace, and give specific details. No waffle there.

3. I called up I called to check my application was received, and when they hoped to be doing interviews. It was actually quite hard to find a phone number (they don’t have one on their website), so I think that showed initiative. I asked to speak to the editor and was put straight through.

4. I prepared I didn’t just have a look at their website. In fact, I was very familiar with that already, so I made more of an effort to find out more. Read other articles about the website that wasn’t from them. Watch videos, read past features, read interviews, look at all their social media channels, and, most importantly, THINK OF SOME IDEAS.

5. I tried to be memorable When you’re applying for a job you really want, SHOW that you really want it. I brought ideas with me to the interview, I tried to put my personality across, as well as talk about my experience and the role. I physically handed over a folder of my ideas and left it with them, without being asked. I brought along my portfolio (although failed to actually show anything), and, after the interview, I sent an email a day after thanking them for the time.

2 thoughts on “Getting a journalism job: 5 tips

  1. This is great advice thank you. I will be graduating in fashion soon and will be applying to write for magazines, I know they get tons of applicants so standing out is a must! X

Leave a Reply

