Journalism Jobs

New job: Multimedia Journalist, GoThinkBig

I was going to write something fancy for the title. ‘New beginnings’, ‘Some exciting news’, but seeing as I’m becoming a digital journalist, I thought the best way to do it was in its literal nature (SEO, y’know): I have a new job as a Multimedia Journalist at GoThinkBig.

Yep. I’m pretty  very chuffed. So chuffed that I even made this picture. Pah.

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 21.52.35

Anything that has happened to me that relates to my career, writing, being a journalist or ANYTHING of that sort, I have blogged about. Obviously I couldn’t post about applying for a new position whilst at my current job, which is why I have been pretty low on posts recently. It seemed that nothing else seemed important to write while I was going through the application, interview and waiting game process.

I’ve been working at PTA+ Magazine for just over a year now, and have gained so much experience and skills, from real-life sub editing, to dealing with PRs, finding giveaways, writing features, as well as writing the e-newsletter, managing Facebook, and uploading web content. Being a part of a small team has given me the chance to be creative, be instrumental in decision-making, and also take on a range of different daily tasks that wouldn’t always happen in a bigger team.

It’s been good, really good. And if I’m honest, I probably thought I would’ve stayed there a bit longer. But opportunities don’t come up when you want them. Nah, they like to pop up at times you’re not expecting them.

But also, I wanted a new challenge. Throughout education I have always pushed myself, to learn something new or get that higher grade. This job would not only give me the chance to improve on my multimedia skills of video and audio, but also give me more experience in digital journalism. Because let’s be honest, if you want to become a journalist these days, you can’t go far if you don’t have digital experience.

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 21.54.55

I’ve followed GoThinkBig for a while, just before there huge opportunity came about last year with Rizzle Kicks. If you’re an aspiring journalist, you’ve probably heard of it too, because it was launched through a collaboration with Bauer Media and O2.

For those who don’t know, the site is a digital hub which aims to help young people aged 16-25 get their first foot on the career ladder. The posts are REALLY helpful (ironically probably helping me get the job offer…), and much like my blog, the site covers everything from work experience tips, to cover letter advice, CVs, and job hunting. However obviously, the career advice spans across all industries, and not just journalism. There’s TONS of work experience opportunities, and currently they’ve released a HUGE project, which will give 100 young people the chance to remix Le Freak with Nile Rogers and Rudimental. Pretty cool, huh?

“Together, we aim to provide thousands of opportunities for young people up and down the country.” Tokunbo Ajasa-Oluwa, head of GoThinkBig

I dedicated this whole blog to writing about my career back in 2011, and I have found the 200-odd posts I have written to come pretty naturally. I enjoy writing about careers, I love helping people with their career paths and job decisions, and I really did feel that the job role would suit me perfectly.

Screen Shot 2014-09-14 at 17.19.07

I found the job on Twitter, through the girl who was leaving tweeting something like “I’m leaving GoThinkBig… who wants my job?”. As the Multimedia Journalist, I will be generating ideas and content, interviewing, writing features, as well as getting involved with the video and audio content across the site.

I have a lot of ideas and advice that I want to blog about going through the application process, but seeing as this post is getting a tad too long already, I’ll save that for another time.

P.S this also means my easy 20-minute country drive to work will change to early starts, delayed trains, and becoming a fully-fledged commuter. I’ll keep ya posted about that bit.

3 thoughts on “New job: Multimedia Journalist, GoThinkBig

Leave a Reply

