Day off diary

Day off diary: Tea, cake and sweet things.

Don’t you just love a day off?

There are times I spend my evenings and weekend mornings doing work… but there’s also no doubt that I enjoy Friday afternoons with the prospect of the weekend.  Even though I’m more of a coffee drinker, I love going to tearooms. I think it’s more the atmosphere, you’ll never see a stressed or angry person in a tearoom, will you? I found the most amazing tea shop whilst travelling in a place called Wollongong, near Sydney Australia. I am yet to find an equivalent, but Sabrina’s Sweet Things in Handcross comes pretty close.

Fotor0321121331

It hasn’t been open for a year yet, and I was quite pleased to find this little nugget before it catches on. It was a simple ‘tea room West Sussex’ search by my sister that found us the place, so we jumped in the car for a visit. The café is separated into different rooms, and we found it hard to choose where to sit (initially perching ourselves upstairs, then changing our minds to  downstairs by the window!). There are rooms with books, rooms with toys for children, and quiet rooms with tables and chairs in.

Fotor0321121552

We opted for the table near the sunny window. There was a big choice of teas to choose from, as expected. I had a ‘rhubarb and custard’ fruit tea and a caramel shortbread slice, and my sister went for a red velvet cake slice (which was amazing) and a breakfast tea. The glass teapots were gorgeous, and all the teacups came in different patterns and shapes. Truly a difference experience to your average coffee in Costa. The staff were so friendly and with the long tea menu available and plenty of homemade cakes to try, I’ll definitely be going back!

Fotor0321121856

The place was quite quiet when we arrived, and we had the pick of the whole place to find a table. When we left, more and more people were coming in… I think it’s catching on!

Leave a Reply

