Inspiration and Editors / Interviews

Authors vs. editors. INTERVIEW: Sarah Webb, author.

Authors and editors are vital in the creation of written material. Writers develop and research original written material, while editors guide, review and revise content. Annette Stevens spoke to writer, Sarah Webb, who publishes the ‘Ask Amy Green’ books about journalism for younger teens.

http://www.askamygreen.com/

sw_and_dancing_daze_cover_494x295px

Were you interested in writing whilst growing up? Yes. I have always written a diary and I wrote for the school newspaper. I started writing short stories in school but never showed them to anyone. In college I started writing a book and finally finished it several years later.

Currently you’re the successful author of the ‘Amy Green’ books. Could you take us through your day? Get up and get kids to school 9pm walk or swim 10pm sit at my desk and write or edit 1/2/3/4pm Stop writing – depending on the day and how hungry I am! After that I do my emails, other work (articles, blogs, book reviews, event programming etc). I also teach writing for children on Thursday evenings. On Fridays I often do school events.

What was the inspiration behind the Amy Green books? My teen diaries.

Did you go through the route of journalism, then switch to full-time fiction? No. I started as a bookseller. Then I wrote some pieces for local newspapers and magazines, before writing a children’s cookery book and then my first novel in the year 2000.

Do you have any writing tips? Read. Write. And stick your bum to the seat of you chair and get on with it. Finishing is vital. The world is full of unfinished books.

For more writing tips see www.sarahwebb.ie

2 thoughts on “Authors vs. editors. INTERVIEW: Sarah Webb, author.

  1. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely wonderful. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is really a great web site.

Leave a Reply

