Blogging / Freelancing

Happy New Year and some Christmas memories.

imagesCA1XJO2M

Happy New Year… nearly! Queue the stereotypical statuses: #newyearnewme, ‘2014 is going to be the best year ever!’… etc, etc.

Homemade advent calendar, favourite!

Homemade advent calendar, favourite!

Because December is my favourite month of the year, I spent a lot of the time indulging myself in festive happenings, which is the likely reason why my blog was neglected near the end of the month (oops). I was lucky enough to have some holiday left to use up at work, so I finished on the 19th December and I am not back until the 2nd January. This meant a lot of Christmas baking, making decorations and a wreath, singing to Christmas songs and last-minute dashes to the shops to finish my Christmas shopping. I left wrapping last minute (as always), got merry on Christmas eve (as always) and ate ten times my body weight in food (of course, as always) over the Christmas period. I wouldn’t even like to know how many mince pies were consumed by me in that month… woops.

Christmas jumper

Christmas jumper

Homemade Christmas decorations

Homemade Christmas decorations

Attempted to make these, didn't quite turn out as good as the picture...

Attempted to make these, didn’t quite turn out as good as the picture…

Make your own Christmas wreath!

Make your own Christmas wreath!

Presentssssss

Presentssssss

Articulate - played every Christmas without fail.

Articulate – played every Christmas without fail.

Foooooood

Foooooood

Cheeeeeese

Cheeeeeese

Christmas hamper

Christmas hamper

My Christmas treat to look forward to!

My Christmas treat to look forward to!

Now that the Christmas cheer is starting to die down, I’m starting to think about what 2014, or more narrowly, January, will bring. Work wise, my day job will see me beginning the summer issue of the magazine – it goes out at the beginning of a school’s summer term and will go to press early April. When I’m back at work our spring issue will be published, and I’m excited (as ever) to see all our hard work put into print! For my freelance work, I have had a couple of weeks off! Because of the busy Christmas period, the January and February issues were sent to press earlier on. This means that my deadline next month will be for March and I am already working on what to include and thinking of the summery months ahead. My requests for articles in spring 2014 may not seem as odd now that we are actually entering into that year, rather than getting ready for Christmas!

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

With less than a week now until I go back to work, I am writing down on my to-do list to blog and get myself ahead on my freelance work to ease off the stress coming up to deadline day! I’ll let you know how it goes…

Leave a Reply

