Blogging

The prime time to write.

I’m a bit of an earlybird. Not that I enjoy getting up early in the mornings, but once I’m up, I’m not craving to get back in bed. I have always thought I’m at my most productive in the mornings. At university, aside from the boozy nights out, I would get up early and go straight to do my work in the library, rather than having a lie in and putting off essays until the afternoon. By the late afternoon, 4/5pm, I would feel restless, give up, and have no motivation anymore. Evenings were a bit of a write-off for me, taking to the television, rather than the books. Maybe this was just an excuse to be lazy in the evenings ‘But I just don’t work well in the evenings!’, but doing work at 11pm at night has just never appealed to me.

Now that I’m working full-time, and obviously do get to take advantage of my productive-morning-nature at work, fitting in blogging and any extra writing has to be done in the evenings or on the weekend. I’m not complaining, I choose to do it, but my previous ‘prime time’ to write has to be slightly nudged, a liiiiitle bit later.

Blogging in bed. Laaavly.

Blogging in bed. Laaavly.

The worst thing is feeling like you are writing because you have to. Coming in from work at 6pm, the last thing I usually feel like doing is sitting infront of a computer screen, like I have been doing for the last 8 hours, to write. Doing just that makes me resent what I’m doing, I don’t enjoy it, and it becomes a chore. But lately, I’ve found myself having a bit of a second-wind in the evenings, coming in and having a much-deserved dinner, watching Hollyoaks (for some reason this is awkwardly turned on a lot around 7pm every evening, argh!), before sitting down at 9pm and wanting to write. Maybe it’s a bit of the fact it feels nice to be inside when it’s dark and freeeezing outside? Ormaybe the mornings aren’t the only prime time to write?

If there’s not a time that you can find to enjoy sitting down and blogging, then it will get pushed aside until you’re forced to put up a post, in a bid to not look like you’re neglecting the damn thing. So I’m glad I’ve found another ‘prime time’.

Leave a Reply

