Blogging / Contribute / General Journalism / Interviews / Resources

A month of blogging: SEPTEMBER

I kept to my promise… not shutting my blog away in a closet, only to come out once a week, but taking time to update my blog and write more regular posts! It’s amazing that even though I have always known how to ‘schedule’ posts in advance on wordpress, I have never actually used it. Which seems ridiculous really. When I am in the mood to write, and write a couple of blog posts, I have now began scheduling them in advance to spread out the posts on different days, and even automatically linked it to publicise on Twitter!

september

This September was the first month that I haven’t gone back to education since I was four years old! I went straight from college, to university, to complete my NCTJ, and now it is weird seeing all the university students go back to their boozy freshers week, whilst I’m working a 9-5! It doesn’t feel that strange, I’m done with education… for now. But it also made me realise that this Christmas will be the first Christmas I will have no work to do, no revision, no essays, just eating… a lot! No part-time job meaning I have to work Christmas day, Boxing day or New years eve… wahoo!

RIGHT on the blog this month, Annette has been busy with posts about inspirational editors. I think it’s always interesting to find out how they got their job, or more importantly, what jobs they had before to lead them to this!

Family guy

Company editor

Elle editor

Anna Wintour

Diana Veerland

victoria_white_Q_A

Interviews, interviews, interviews! My favourite! We had quite a few this month, so check them out below:

HAYLEY NEWNES – FINALIST IN ITV2’s THE EXCLUSIVES

ANDY BULL – JOURNALIST, AUTHOR, CONSULTANT, TUTOR

SHELLEY BAKER – FEATURES WRITER AND SOCIAL MEDIA MANAGER

FOUNDER OF MUDDYSTILETTOS

BLOGGER – IT’S NOT ALL ABOUT BOYS

BLOGGER – YOU’RE ALMOST ALICE

hayley

Some CONTRIBUTE and OPPORTUNITY POSTS

WANNABE HACKS

RED PEPPER

COMPANY ACADEMY 2014

images

And I even managed to fit a couple of posts in about my own experiences lately…

An editorial assistant – the four types

Lessons learned – always have a back-up

DON’T MISS:

guest post by Lewis Deakin, who interviewed Sky correspondent, Niall Paterson.

Sky%20News%20News,%20Sport,%20Weather%2003-22%2020-26-27

If you’d like to see anything on the blog, let me know at jumpforjournalism@gmail.com or @Jump4Journalism! x

Leave a Reply

