Blogging

INTERVIEW: Youralmostalice blogger. By Annette Stevens

Previously here at Jump4Journalism, there have had debates about blogging and journalism. Is the latter good when blogging? Does Blogging show you are a bad journalist?  Well, in my first interview, I have tried to bridge the gap in this, whilst interviewing Natalie from Youralmostalice.

download (2)

Hi Natalie! Thank you for agreeing to do this interview for Jump4Journalism. As you probably know, Blogging is very different to journalism, however some people think it gives you a better chance in the industry. Would you agree?

I’d definitely say that blogging and journalism are different but I think blogging does help.  Having a good a blog is a great way to improve your writing and develop your own personal style. It also helps you get some experience behind you. Also, a blog is almost like a portfolio so it’s a good way to get your writing out there and to gain work experience.

What do you think are the similarities to Journalism?

I’d say it’s similar in that you are writing for an audience, although you have a little more freedom in terms of content with a blog you still have to cater it to an audience in a similar way.

Now, let’s chat about your blog in more depth…..it will give our readers more of a chance to get to know you properly. How long have you been blogging for, over at Youralmostalice?

I started it at the end of 2011, so it’s almost been 2 years.

To bloggers and journalists alike, do you think it is advisable to know about web design, in cases of setting up your own website?

I definitely think it’s a helpful thing to know but I don’t think it’s something that should stop or limit you. There are many people out there, who can help you with that side of it and you’ll learn bits of it as time goes by so it’s helpful but it’s not something I’d consider to be an essential thing to know.

Would you ever feature anything different on your blog, such as Book/film reviews?

Yes definitely, I’ve done book reviews in the past and I’ve mentioned films as well. Although, my blog does focus on beauty and make up but I also enjoy doing posts that show a different side to me and are different to beauty posts as I think it keeps it interesting rather than having the same thing all the time.

Is there any way you capture your inspiration, before you post about it? For example, do you write all your notes in a notebook?

I keep a few notebooks especially for my blog where I jot down ideas of posts or notes for the content, I find lists help too and websites like Tumblr and Pinterest are a great way to capture inspiration too.

Do you have any blogger tips?

There are a lot of tips I could give but I think the most important one is to enjoy it, blogging is supposed to be fun and I think when someone is really enjoying what they’re writing it really shows. General tips: be creative with it, be consistent, make sure your photos are clear and another one that I think is quite important is make sure you have the right motive for blogging. Some people get into blogging for all the wrong reasons – mainly the freebies, whilst there is no denying that it’s a great perk, blogging should be done because its fun and you enjoy it – so make sure you’re blogging for the right reasons because it’s obvious to see.

Is the future of print going to move to online?

I think it already has; I don’t think we’ll ever get rid of print completely or at least I hope we don’t but nowadays we get everything online: we get magazines and newspapers, we can read books on kindles, ad campaigns now also cater more to the internet and technology because that’s where the majority of the audience are. Everyone is always on the go so everything is more about convenience and what can be consumed whilst you are moving, travelling or working.

Thank you!

 

download (10)

 

http://youralmostalice.blogspot.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

