CV / Journalism Jobs / Journalism skills

Media CVs – should they stand out?

When I first started this blog I was reviewing The Exclusives, and I found a link on their website about creating a ‘Media CV’. I hadn’t thought of a media CV being any different to a normal CV. Mine was very standard, black and white, Times New Roman font, and pretty boring to look at if I’m honest. I got it up on my laptop and started to read and take in the advice they were giving: after all it was coming from a Bauer HR expert…

Excuse the awful quality of this picture... but it briefly shows you the guide I based my media CV on...

Excuse the awful quality of this picture… but it briefly shows you the guide I based my media CV on…

They told you to make your CV stand out… (click here to see their resources on the website). Their CV was more decorative that any CV I had ever had. It included a picture (thoughts on this?), with different colours, different fonts, different sizes, arrows, lines… it looked good when you looked at the CV and I decided to change mine. I got a different font and made my name bigger at the top. I used a different colour to underline some of the sections of my CV and set it out in a different way. I also put on, then decided to take off, a picture of myself.

Because the career we want to enter into is creative, should our CVs be too? When I look at my CV now I know it is more eye catching, and although I have toned it down a bit from when I first changed it, I think it still holds a professional look.

Should we have separate, media CVs for those sorts of jobs or do you think it is not what it looks like and more about what is on it?

Leave a Reply

